I Didn’t Think It Would End This Way

I knew the end was coming, but I didn’t think it would come this way. I had waited for it, but I had no idea what I was waiting for. Now, as I saw the shadow behind me move, I knew this was it. They had come for me. I say they because I honestly didn’t know who they were. When it came right down to it, I really didn’t know anything.

Well, that’s not quite true. I knew enough. I knew they were coming to kill me.

Even though, if I had wanted to, I could have watched it happen from the reflection of the mirror in front of me, I closed my eyes. I didn’t want to be a witness to my own murder, even if the police wouldn’t be able to use my statement. I sat in the silent midnight that lay behind my eyelids, and I waited.

Deep into that darkness peering, long I stood there wondering, fearing,

Doubting, dreaming dreams no mortal ever dared to dream before;

I sat and I listened, but heard nothing for a long while. Then, there was a slight creaking, as if someone treading quietly on the wood floor.

Half a league, half a league, half a league onward. All in the valley of Death.

Even though I knew my killer was deathly close, I suddenly knew I had to do something. If Death was here, I wanted to look it in the eyes when it took me. I wanted to make it clear that I was not afraid. So, with a breath that I knew was my last lingering in my lungs, I spun around and looked straight into the eyes of Life, knowing it was the last remnant of it left in this room. The last thing I heard was the click of a trigger.

Now I lay me down to sleep. I pray the Lord my soul to keep.

Leave a Reply

