Closer Than Skin, Deeper Than Breath

Having written nothing on my blog for quite some time, I decided to write about one of my favorite subjects: lyrics from a song by Cutter Gage.

As some of you may know, Cutter Gage, Cory Ryan, and a few other musicians from their church, recently formed a worship collective called Vessel Worship. Their first EP released just a few days ago. I love all of the songs on the EP, but one line from one of the songs has really come alive for me today. The words are from the song Be In My Everything. Cutter actually played the song at my church seven months ago. (Why yes, I am feeling a little smug right now. How did you know?)

“You’re closer than the skin I’m in and deeper than my breath.”

When I first heard this song a few months ago, I didn’t pay much attention to these lyrics. I mean, sure, I liked the song. I even acknowledged that the lyrics were “deep”. But it wasn’t until today that I had an epiphany, of sorts.

At least 93.6% of the time,  we are completely unaware of our skin and our breath. However, skin is the natural armor of the human body. It protects our body from germs that may try to get inside, helps regulate our body temperature, and lets us experience the world we live in by touch.

And our breath?

Well, let’s just say that, without breath, your body simply can’t function.

We hardly ever think about our skin and our breath, but they are absolutely vital to us. And, even if we don’t think about them, they are always with us, keeping us alive and well.

God should be our skin and breath. He should be what is holding us together and keeping us alive.

We may not always feel Him.

But He is always there.

Leave a Reply

